Crepes and Waffles work to empower women

Where do you turn as a struggling single mum in country that has no welfare state? Crepes and Waffles, is a unique restaurant chain that was opened in 1980 and only employs women and often single mothers. The unique company was set up by a couple who had the idea straight out of University to help empower women by providing them with reliable employment and a substantial pay cheque at the end of the month whilst they can still find time to study and look after their families. With a Crepes and Waffles on every corner, it is clear to anyone who visits Colombia, that this chain is successful with it’s ethics, employees and it’s ice cream. Listen to this podcast where I find out from Norma, manager at Crepes and Waffles, how she sees herself as a role model for the women here striving to be independent.

SAM_1949

Crepes and Waffles chain restaurant in Colombia Photo by Hannah Smithson

Tags: , , ,

About hannahsmithson

Hi I'm Hannah. I've just graduated from Bournemouth University with a first class honors in Multimedia Journalism and am about to adventure off to the other side of the world to work in the Falkland Islands for FITV. I am excited about my future prospects in Journalism and here is my blog where I document most of my experiences. Please get in touch if you want to chat...

3 responses to “Crepes and Waffles work to empower women”

  1. naomim0178 says :

    Hey Hannah, I loved this article! What a brilliant business concept. I’m actually studying about women in subordinate positions within Colombia, it would be great to ask you more questions if you don’t mind? Thank you for posting this! X

    • hannahsmithson says :

      Hi Naomi, I know isn’t it. Sure, happy to answer any questions about my trip – I don’t know how much I can help from a professional point of view – just as much as I know as a student journalist who visited the country. Thanks

      • naomim0178 says :

        Hi Hannah! I only just saw your reply. It would be brilliant to listen to the podcast in its original form (in Spanish) if you have it? I’m actually doing a whole project on Crepes & Waffles now, such a great business! If you could let me see the transcript/audio in any way that would be fantastic. My email is naomi_meroz@yahoo.co.uk. X

Leave a Reply

